Photo Update

The Hindu holiday of Dashain just ended, after five straight days of celebrations. The kids have a month off from school, their longest break all year. Here are some photos from the last week.

Sundar sporting the shades.

Sundar sporting the shades.

 

Goat waiting outside restaurant kitchen.

Goat waiting outside restaurant kitchen.

 

Happy dashain! Site of 500 goat sacrifices from the day before.

Happy dashain! Site of 500 goat sacrifices from the day before.

 

Annnd.. nightmare.

Annnd.. nightmare.

 

Meet our school bus driver, Ganesh.

Meet our school bus driver, Ganesh.

 

IMG_5742

Colors of tika in town.

Colors of tika in town.

Some other news: my co-Sustainability Fellow, Terri, arrived three days ago and has jumped right into the ongoing projects. We’ve been testing out different rammed earth mixtures since she arrived. I made a small mold, but our ratios of sand:clay:silt:water is a little fishy, and we’re still working on it. I realize I need to post pictures of all the other volunteers so there are faces associated with names, and I’m going to do this soon.

We’ve also started a new project building the additional level on the South building, here at the Children’s Home. Last week, I made up a SketchUp design for the space, which was pretty tightly constrained because of existing columns. It has been exhilarating to watch our masons and workers build up the same walls I had seen on my computer screen. Yesterday, the entire house – all the kids, volunteers, and Nepali staff – carried 4,500 bricks up 40 feet onto our roof, where Ed and I stacked every brick. There was a thick and steady stream of bricks, and everyone’s hands were raw by the end.

I’m going to be taking a time-lapse sequence of the construction, which should be pretty much finished within a week. I’ll post this when it’s done. Here’s a SketchUp rendering of the design (without windows/doors).

Rough rendering of new level (my future room on the right).

Rough rendering of new level (my future room on the right).

5 comments on “Photo Update

  1. jane says:

    dude~no goat for me, thank you. i will be a strict vegetarian while i’m there. signed, dudette

  2. Anonymous says:

    that’s such an amazing swing-set! -cass

  3. Wimby says:

    not a good time to be a goat! They are not simply sacrificed are they? Food?
    I want bamboo to grow in Vermont.

  4. Josh says:

    are you planning on lots of guests, Luke? I notice two bunk beds in your room, so that’s room for four…

  5. Sophie says:

    Interesting about the Hindu holiday – coincidence that it coincides with the Muslim holiday of Eid ul Adha which also consists of many slaughtered goats…?

Leave a Reply

