A Random Assortment of Photos/Videos

My last post was a bit of a debby-downer. Despite the tone I struck in that post, I do in fact remain overwhelmingly happy and curious. The second of these adjectives may sound a bit out of place, but really, I would say that – for me – curiosity is directly related to contentment. I’ve read many times that the happiest people are those that learn something new every day. There is much, and more, to learn here every day. A now familiar language, time with the kids in the house, the culture, and smaller projects.

With the rest of the project a little in flux, I’ve taken up some smaller projects, and have four in particular that I’ll be spending my time on. One of which is a wrought iron gate that I designed in Photoshop with Brendan, one of the other Fellows (Brendan Wenzel, he’s an illustrator for children’s books and creates amazing drawings with a Wacom Tablet on Photoshop). I traced around the contours of the “Tree of Life” in Photoshop and Brendan turned it all into a gate. Here are a couple photos.

The design for our Tree Gate.

The design for our Tree Gate.

Tree Gate in progress.

Tree Gate in progress.

Another project: Jamie and I will be building a cedar pergola on the roof of the house. We’re in bad need of a new solar system, with more panels, and we want to avoid taking up too much roof space. The solution: build a pergola (like the one I drew in SketchUp below), complete with planters, vines, and set of chairs, and mount our new solar panels on top.

A CAD Sketch of our Pergola

A CAD Sketch of our Pergola

 

Pergola design in context

Pergola design in context

 

I have a couple of other exciting projects that I’m just starting to work on, but they’re a little more involved, so I’ll save those for a future post. In the meantime, here are a few random photos/videos:

IMG_0871 IMG_0902

Tossing Susil, whose parents live on the land. One of the best parts of every day.

Tossing Susil, whose parents live on the land. One of the best parts of every day.

A torsion box, with over 4,000 pounds of distributed load. It only deflected by 1/8"! This could be a great solution for building a lightweight second level subfloor between our I-Beams.

A torsion box, with over 4,000 pounds of distributed load. It only deflected by 1/8″! This could be a great solution for building a lightweight second level subfloor between our I-Beams.

Krishna Auntie with Carly. She got snatched by one of the dogs here, so we let her hang out in our room for the day. Apparently she's a pigeon, or the Nepali version at least.

Krishna Auntie with Carly. She got snatched by one of the dogs here, so we let her hang out in our room for the day. Apparently she’s a pigeon, or the Nepali version at least.

Riding on the roof of the bus on our Dailkekh adventure. We drove three hours north on a bus and got off in random village.

Riding on the roof of the bus on our Dailkekh adventure. We drove three hours north on a bus and got off in random village.

A scene from the beach.

A scene from the beach.

The man who cut our cedar for the pergola. Mmhmm.

The man who cut our cedar for the pergola. Mmhmm.

Happy Holi.

Happy Holi.

The following two videos are from destroying a corner sample that we made on our foundation. The corner came out almost perfectly, but I always knew we were going to destroy it, so I didn’t put any cement in the mix. Taking out the whole thing took almost 3 hours, and we can reuse all of the material because of the absence of any chemical stabilizer.

Last, and most importantly, my mother is here! Mom got here a little over a week ago, and will be here a total of about 4 weeks. She’s the perfect person for helping out here – almost 30 years experience teaching and working with children, tons of gardening experience, thousands of hours of sewing (for working with the women’s center), and an unstoppable thirst for adventure and seeing new things. I’m so, so lucky to have her here, and I’m excited to go on some adventures with her.

That would be my mother. In Nepal.  She's been coming with me when I run errands - this is the family of the metal workers making our gate. She charmed them immediately and they invited her and I to dinner for next Tuesday.

That would be my mother. In Nepal. She’s been coming with me when I run errands – this is the family of the metal workers making our gate. She charmed them immediately and they invited her and I to dinner for next Tuesday.

4 comments on “A Random Assortment of Photos/Videos

  1. Josh says:

    That gate looks great! Winkie will love it as the Tree of Life. And the cedar-cutter looks positively maniacal. But I want to see the videos; when I click on them they say Private!

  2. cassidia8 says:

    I love seeing mom there, being welcomed in to the kopila family.!

  3. hopiec2013 says:

    Of course I love the photos of you tossing the child in the air! The Tree of Life is beautiful. I like the idea of knowing that poeple walk thru it when you have left Nepal (if you ever do!). And of course Jane. Jane, I can’t imagine a more fulfilling experience for you… a compilation of your talents, experience, interests and loves.

  4. Hesse says:

    I can’t tell who is having more fun–you or the little boy. Xoxoxo h

Leave a Reply

