The Monsoon Transformation Phenomenon

As I wrote in my post yesterday, once I arrived back in Surkhet I felt as though I had only been away for a week. The kids, the home, the town are all the same, with a few minor adjustments and inches grown.

I arrived at night, so I went immediately the next morning to the land, which might be more deeply engrained into my consciousness than the home. The experience was nothing less than – for lack of a better word – trippy. It felt as though I had been in a 10 year coma and woken without realizing or being told of this fact, only to reason it out by the impossibly furious growth of Nepali jungle at the place I spend most of my time. The explosion is incredible – brown has turned to green, green has turned into green-squared, and any long, open spaces seem to be filled with new plants. I went back in my iPhoto and chose out some photos from a few months ago, and went yesterday to take pictures from similar standpoints and perspectives. Check out the transformation:

A1 A2 B1 B2 C1 C2 D1 D2 E1 E2 F1 F2 G1 G2 H1 H2 I1 I2 J1 J2 K1 K2 L1 L2 N1 N2 P1 P2 Q1 Q2

6 comments on “The Monsoon Transformation Phenomenon

  1. jane says:

    Luke~those changes are INcredible, including Sandip’s haircut. What a relief to find the land not ravaged by the flood. I hope the lives of the people in Surkhet have also been transformed since the monsoons. Oh, and baby Ravi looks so happy, alert and strong. Bravo to all at Kopila!!

  2. Wimby says:

    Wow. Just as we are headed the other way! Where is that red dirt from? for coloring the rammed earth? I like the little house in the field; would make a nice studio/home. Is it still growing season there?

  3. Tim says:

    Reminds me of Florida, Duke: plant something then jump back or you’d get a stem or trunk thru the tummy! What I notice most is how exposed wood has aged.

  4. cassidia8 says:

    i agree with mom – sandip has made an incredible transformation!

  5. Hope Cannon says:

    This is amazing!!!!! love the juxtapositions of the two photos. had a slightly smiliar feel when we returned to Florida. the teeny things i planted last spring are now HUGE! glad you are back and loving it.

  6. Anthony Thacher says:

    The rapidity of the transformation of the landscape with the arrival of the Monsoon reminds me of the Mayan ruins one sees in Central America. If it were not for constant action with machetes, the Mayan pyramids in short time revert to jungle. Your village has created another category of employment and another item for the budget unless you can find volunteers with a sense of pride in what they have created with your leadership. Tim

Leave a Reply

